Start a conversation

What can I do, if the iBackup Desktop App shows that 'Backup Encryption' option is enabled on target iOS device?

If iBackup desktop App shows that the 'backup encryption' settings is enabled on target iOS device, then you do not need to worry. You can check device options (check red arrow on image below) and disable encryption by clicking the “Disable” button next to “Backup Encryption” on popup window.


OR you can do this on iTunes:

To uncheck "encrypt local backups" in iTunes, you will need to complete the following steps:

  • Open iTunes
  • Plug your child's iOS device into the computer
  • Go to your child's Device Summary page by clicking on the tiny square phone icon button that appears at the top of iTunes, as seen in the image below: 


  • In the Device Summary page, please uncheck the "Encrypt Local Backups" checkbox

  • Click Apply or Sync


If you are unable to do this, please go to Preferences in the iTunes menu. In Preferences, please select Devices. Delete all backups for your child's device in this list. 


Adjusted device settings, but iBackup desktop App still says "Encryption Enabled"?


After adjusting the device settings, if the iBackup desktop app still says that encryption is enabled on the iPhone or iPad, then you may need to Reset the Settings of that device.

Remember, this is not a complete Factory Reset that will affect your device's data. All it is going to do is remove your preferences for WIFI, Encryption, Bluetooth, Do Not Disturb, Notifications, General, Sounds, Brightness, Wallpaper, and Privacy.

NOTE: While this function does not remove any data from your iPhone, the software does recommend backing up your device to iTunes before doing this process.


Follow the steps below to Reset All Settings:

                   Go to Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings 



Choose files or drag and drop files
Was this article helpful?
Yes
No
  1. Kelly Johnston

  2. Posted
  3. Updated

Comments